History of the Knecht & Müller AG

100 years of swiss spectacle lenses

Herrmann Knecht - 1914
Arnold Knecht 1922
Logo Arnold-Knecht-Optik 1938
Gerhard Knecht - 1995

1913

Hermann Knecht acquires the building located at Mühlenstrasse in Stein am Rhein from a watch case factory estate sale. In 1914, he founds a company named Hermann-Knecht-Optik.

1922

Hermann Knecht passes the company on to his son, Arnold Knecht. Arnold Knecht primarly deals with spectacle optics and trade in optical instruments and articles. Directed by Arnold Knecht, the company becomes one of Switzerland’s most important optical companies.

1938

Arnold’s son, Gerhard Knecht, begins his apprenticeship as an optometrist at Arnold-Knecht-Optik (AKOS). At the end of the war, he establishes business contacts in the USA, England an France.

1956

Arnold-Knecht-Optik is the first optical company in Switzerland to create a high-vacuum vapour deposition system to coat lenses. Thanks to this technological development and the fact that it sells products in demand on the market, the company grows constantly and the premises need to be expanded. In 1959, a new factory building is created.

1966

Gerhard Knecht takes over the business from his father. At that time, Knecht-Optik has 60 employees.

[ewf-divider height=”10″]

Since 1980

Knecht Optik has been a Hoya agent and is Hoya’s exclusive representative in Switzerland.

 1986

Peter Müller-Knecht takes over to represent the 4th generation of the company.

Seit 1993

Introduction of a Life Cycle Assessment: It is the declared aim of the Knecht & Müller AG, to not only produce lenses of high quality, but to also offer carbon-neutral products.

1994

The company participates in the “nanotechnology” research project of the Swiss Commission for Technology and Innovation, KTI.

1995

A new building with an innovative energy system is built.

1997

The company becomes incorporated.

2005

For the first time, the company offers an individual progressive-addition lens.

2006

Knecht & Müller AG produces 100% carbon-neutral.

2007

A know-how exchange is agreed upon with the Hoya Vision Care company.

Knecht & Müller AG awarded the ÖBU prize for best sustainability report in the SME category by the “Schweizerische Vereinigung für ökologisch bewusste Unternehmensführung” (“ÖBU“) [Swiss Association for Ecologically-Aware Business Management]. Knecht & Müller achieves carbon-neutral production by means of renewable energy sources, increasing energy efficiency and a financial commitment to climate protection projects.

2008

Conversion of the old building with optimized insulation according to latest energy standards.

Start of the production of HOYALUX iD LifeStyle individual progressive lenses in Stein am Rhein. Knecht & Müller AG is the only associate partner of HOYA worldwide to get the permission for an independant production.

2009

Knecht & Müller AG wins the Innovations award 2009 of local Schaffhauser banks. Knecht & Müller AG receives the price for the best sustainable development of a company.

In November, Knecht & Müller AG is again awarded the ÖBU prize for the best sustainability report in the SME category.

2010

The company invested in a new anti-reflection coating facility in order to be able to produce the Super Hi-Vision Coating from HOYA itself.

Connection to the Stein am Rhein woodchip heater and installation of a new heat pump with a so-called freecooling system, resulting in savings of approximately 10% of the total electricity requirements.

Currently the Knecht & Müller AG ranks among the leading lens producers in Switzerland, with an annually production of about 250.000 eyeglass lenses and with 55 employees to the most important employers of the region. The main focus lies in the production of premium prescription lenses.

2011

In summer 2011, Knecht & Müller AG expanded its own product line and brought the Privilege Individual progressive-addition lens onto the Swiss market. An individual lens that is manufactured in Stein am Rhein and is especially made for use in sports varifocal spectacles that are very curved and have large diameter lenses.

In November, Knecht & Müller AG were awarded the ÖBU prize for the best sustainability report in the SME category for the fourth time.

2012

In May 2012, Knecht & Müller AG took over 100% of the shares of VON HOFF AG, with retroactive effect from 1 January 2012. VON HOFF AG represents various famous designer frames in Switzerland, is general agent for the Nidek company and supplies opticians and ophthalmologists in Switzerland with eye-testing equipment. Both companies will continue to operate in their previous form.

2013

As part of the company’s long-term succession planning, former Managing Director Thomas Fischer is leaving us. Once again, financial and operational control are 100% in the hands of the Müller-Knecht family.

The operational management will now be taken care of by the Proprietor, Peter Müller-Knecht, with the assistance of his children, Niels Müller and Christina Müller. Christina Müller and Niels Müller retain their former positions of Marketing Manager and Project Manager, Production Department respectively, as well as being members of the Executive Board. Since autumn 2013 Igor Merhar has strengthened as a sales manager the management.

Lager
Peter Müller-Knecht
Hochvakuum-Anlage
KuM_7
Rohblank-Lager
Photovoltaik-Anlage Knecht & Müller AG
öbu-Preis
Hochvakuum-Anlage für Aufbringung von Entspiegelungsschichten
Färbeprozess
Einspannen der Brillengläser in eine Kalotte - zur Bedampfung mit Entspiegelungsschicht
Entspiegeltes Brillenglas
öbu-Preis
VON HOFF
Christina und Niels Müller

2014

In this year, the Knecht & Müller AG celebrates its 100th anniversary. With an anniversary celebration (pictures customer event) in Zurich, 100 years of quality, precision and innovation in the manufacture of ophtalmic lenses were celebrated with the best customers.

2015

After over 100 years in the hands of the Müller-Knecht family, Dr. Peter Müller has decided, together with his family, to sell the tradition-steeped company to long-term business partners, the Hoya Corporation. Knecht & Müller AG is joining forces with the global corporation HOYA in order to continue operating successfully in the Swiss market in future.

100-Jahre-150
Logo Hoya

Slideshow 100 years of Knecht & Müller AG

With an annual production of around 200,000 spectacle lenses, Knecht & Müller AG is currently one of the leading lens manufacturers in Switzerland and with a workforce of 40 people, one of the most important employers in the region. The emphasis lies in the production of high-quality prescription lenses.

Company tour

GESCHICHTE DER KNECHT & MÜLLER AG

100 Jahre Schweizer Brillengläser

1913

erwirbt Hermann Knecht aus der Konkursmasse einer Uhrenschalenfabrik die Räumlichkeiten in Stein am Rhein, an der Mühlenstrasse, und gründet 1914 die Hermann-Knecht-Optik.

1922

übergibt Hermann Knecht die Firma seinem Sohn, Arnold Knecht. Arnold Knecht befasst sich hauptsächlich mit der Brillenoptik, dem Handel von optischen Instrumenten und Artikeln. Unter Arnold Knecht entwickelt sich die Firma zu einer der bedeutendsten Optikfirmen in der Schweiz.

1938

beginnt sein Sohn Gerhard Knecht, die Lehre als Augenoptiker in der Arnold-Knecht-Optik (AKOS). Er ist es auch, der gleich nach dem Ende des Krieges geschäftliche Kontakte in den USA, England und Frankreich knüpft.

1956

schafft die Arnold-Knecht-Optik als erste Optikfirma in der Schweiz eine Hochvakuumanlage für Farbbedampfungen an. Dank des technischen Fortschrittes und den auf dem Markt gefragten Produkten, wächst die Firma stetig und demzufolge müssen die Räumlichkeiten angepasst und vergrössert werden. So wird 1959 ein Fabrikneubau erstellt.

1966

übernimmt Gerhard Knecht das Geschäft von seinem Vater. Die Knecht-Optik zählt zu jener Zeit 60 Angestellte.

Seit 1980

ist die Knecht Optik Hoya-Agent und vertritt somit exklusiv die Hoya-Produkte in der Schweiz.

 1986

übernimmt Peter Müller-Knecht als Vertreter der 4. Generation die Firma.

Seit 1993

Einführung einer Ökobilanz: Es ist erklärtes Ziel der Knecht & Müller AG, nicht nur qualitativ hochwertige, sondern auch klimaneutrale Produkte anzubieten.

1994

beteiligt sich die Firma an einem KTI Forschungsprojekt „Nanotechnologie“.

1995

wird ein Neubau mit einem innovativen Energiesystem erstellt.

1997

erfolgt die Umwandlung in eine Aktiengesellschaft.

2005

bietet die Firma zum ersten Male ein individuelles Gleitsichtglas an.

2006

seit diesem Jahr produziert die Knecht & Müller AG 100% klimaneutral.

2007

wird mit der Firma Hoya Vision Care ein Know-How Transfer vereinbart.

Auszeichnung der Knecht & Müller AG durch die Schweizerische Vereinigung für ökologisch bewusste Unternehmensführung (ÖBU) mit dem ÖBU Preis für den besten Nachhaltigkeitsbericht in der Kategorie KMU. Knecht & Müller schafft es, mit dem Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien, der Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und dem finanziellen Engagement für Klimaschutzprojekte klimaneutral zu produzieren.

2008

Umbau des Altbaus mit optimierten Wärmedämmmassnahmen nach heutigen Energiestandards.

Aufnahme der Produktion der HOYALUX iD LifeStyle Individualgleitsichtgläser in Stein am Rhein. Als einziger nicht zu HOYA gehörender Vertriebspartner weltweit bekommt Knecht & Müller die Freigabe für eine selbständige Produktion.

2009

Auszeichnung der Knecht & Müller AG mit dem Innovationspreis 2009 der Schaffhauser Platzbanken. Knecht & Müller erhält den Preis für die nachhaltige Unternehmensentwicklung.

Im November wird die Knecht & Müller AG zum wiederholten Mal mit dem ÖBU Preis für den besten Nachhaltigkeitsbericht in der Kategorie KMU ausgezeichnet.

2010

investiert die Firma in eine neue Entspiegelungsanlage, um die Super Hi-Vision-Beschichtung von HOYA in Stein am Rhein selbst herstellen zu können.

Anschluss an die Holzschnitzelheizung Stein am Rhein und Einführung einer neuen Wärmepumpe mit einem sogenannten Freecooling System. Dadurch Einsparung von ca. 10% des Gesamtstrombedarfs.

2011

Im Sommer 2011 ergänzt die Knecht & Müller AG ihre eigene Produktlinie und bringt das Privilege Indiviual-Gleitsichtglas auf den Schweizer Markt. Ein Individualglas, das in Stein am Rhein gefertigt wird und speziell für Sport-Gleitsichtbrillen mit hohen Kurven und grossen Durchmessern einsetzbar ist.

Im November wird die Knecht & Müller AG zum 4. Mal mit dem ÖBU Preis für den besten Nachhaltigkeitsbericht in der Kategorie KMU ausgezeichnet.

2012

Im Mai 2012 übernimmt die Knecht & Müller AG rückwirkend per 1.1.2012 100% der Geschäftsanteile der VON HOFF AG. VON HOFF AG vertritt in der Schweiz namhafte Fassungslabels, ist Generalvertreter der Firma Nidek und beliefert Augenoptiker und Augenärzte in der Schweiz mit Geräten zur Augenprüfung. Beide Unternehmen werden in der bisherigen Form weitergeführt.

2013

Im Rahmen der langfristigen Nachfolgeplanung des Unternehmens, scheidet der bisherige Geschäftsführer Thomas Fischer aus dem Unternehmen aus. Die finanzielle und operative Kontrolle liegt wieder zu 100% in den Händen der Familie Müller-Knecht. Die operative Leitung wird durch den Inhaber Peter Müller-Knecht, mit Unterstützung seiner Kinder, Niels Müller und Christina Müller, wahrgenommen. Christina Müller und Niels Müller behalten ihre bisherigen Funktionen als Leiterin Marketing bzw. Projektleiter Technik/Produktion und sind zusätzlich Mitglieder der Geschäftsleitung. Seit Herbst 2013 verstärkt Igor Merhar als Vertriebsleiter die Geschäftsleitung.

2014

In diesem Jahr feiert die Knecht & Müller AG ihr 100-jähriges Bestehen. Mit einer Jubiläumsfeier (Bilder Kundenevent) in Zürich wurden mit den besten Kunden 100 Jahre Qualität, Präzision und Innovation bei der Herstellung von Brillengläsern in einem würdigen Rahmen zelebriert.

2015

Nach mehr als 100 Jahren in den Händen der Familie Müller-Knecht hat sich Dr. Peter Müller gemeinsam mit seiner Familie entschieden, das traditionsreiche Unternehmen an den langjährigen Partner, die Hoya Corporation, zu verkaufen. Knecht & Müller AG schliesst sich dem Weltkonzern HOYA an, um auch in Zukunft erfolgreich am Schweizer Markt zu agieren.

Diashow 100 Jahre Knecht & Müller AG

Aktuell zählt die Knecht & Müller AG mit einer Jahresproduktion von rund 200’000 Brillengläsern zu den führenden Brillenglasherstellern in der Schweiz und mit 40 Mitarbeitenden zu den wichtigsten Arbeitgebern der Region. Die Firma ist das letzte verbleibende Familienunternehmen, das in der Schweiz hochwertige Brillengläser herstellt.

→ Firmenrundgang