Anti-reflective coatings

Without reflections you see better

Anti-reflective coatings on spectacle lenses reduce reflections that can occur on the surface of the spectacle lens. In this case, the light is reflected in a lower intensity than that with which it hits the lens.

It reduces the external reflections that trouble spectacle wearers, as well as reflections which strike the lenses from behind. Also, people looking at the spectacle wearer are less distracted by reflections and are better able to see the eyes of the wearer.

The better the quality of an anti-reflective coating, the less troublesome the reflections are. Anti-reflective coatings are deposited on both sides of the lens, which then make possible clear, non-tiring vision with good contrast.

These days, it is possible to apply anti-reflective coatings to all lenses in a variety of strengths.

High-quality, anti-reflective coatings that reduce glare the best display a green residual reflection. New technologies make it possible to have tinted spectacle lenses with a transparent residual reflection to avoid unpleasant colour combinations.

Lenses with anti-reflective coatings are particularly desirable at night and if the roads are wet.

Read more about anti-reflective coatings from Hoya / Knecht & Müller

Read more about mirror coatings

Hard sealing

Scratch prevention for plastic lenses

It is possible to protect plastic spectacle lenses from scratching in the long term by means of a hard coating. This coating is applied on both sides, using a dipping process. To do this, the lenses are inserted in a basket and then dipped in the hard lacquer. Once they have been left to harden for a specific time, the lenses are then protected against scratches. The adhesion of various anti-reflection coatings is also improved by applying a hard anti-scratch coating.

Revêtements

On voit mieux sans reflets

Les traitements antireflets (également appelés couches antireflets) sur les verres de lunettes réduisent les réflexions qui se manifestent à la surface des verres de lunettes. La lumière est alors réfléchie avec une intensité moindre que celle constatée à son arrivée sur le verre.

Cela réduit les réflexions qui gênent le porteur de lunettes ainsi que les reflets qui arrivent sur le verre de lunette par l’arrière. En outre, la personne placée en face du porteur de lunettes est moins distraite par les réflexions, elle voit mieux les yeux de celui-ci.

Plus la qualité d’un traitement antireflet est élevée, moins les reflets gênants sont nombreux. Les traitements antireflets sont appliqués par vaporisation couche après couche sur les deux faces du verre, ce qui permet un vue nette, exempte de fatigue et riche en contrastes.

Actuellement, il est possible d’appliquer des couches antireflets sur tous les verres, avec différents niveaux d’action.

Les traitements antireflets de grande qualité qui réduisent au maximum l’éblouissement présentent un reflet résiduel vert. De nouvelles technologies applicables aux verres de lunettes teintés permettent un reflet résiduel transparent afin d’éviter des combinaisons chromatiques peu esthétiques.

Les verres de lunettes avec traitement antireflet sont particulièrement indiqués la nuit et sur routes mouillées.

→ Informations complémentaires sur les traitements antireflets de Hoya / Knecht & Müller

Plus d’information sur les traitements de miroitage

Traitement de durcissement

Protection anti-rayures pour les verres organiques

Une couche durcie permet de protéger durablement les verres de lunettes organiques contre les rayures. Ce revêtement est appliqué sur les deux faces en recourant à un procédé de trempage. Pour cela, on place les verres de lunettes dans un panier et puis on les plonge dans une laque durcissante. Après un certain temps de prise, les verres de lunettes sont protégés contre les rayures. La couche durcie permet également d’améliorer l’adhérence des différentes couches antireflets.