History of the Knecht & Müller AG

100 years of swiss spectacle lenses

Herrmann Knecht - 1914
Arnold Knecht 1922
Logo Arnold-Knecht-Optik 1938
Gerhard Knecht - 1995

1913

Hermann Knecht acquires the building located at Mühlenstrasse in Stein am Rhein from a watch case factory estate sale. In 1914, he founds a company named Hermann-Knecht-Optik.

1922

Hermann Knecht passes the company on to his son, Arnold Knecht. Arnold Knecht primarly deals with spectacle optics and trade in optical instruments and articles. Directed by Arnold Knecht, the company becomes one of Switzerland’s most important optical companies.

1938

Arnold’s son, Gerhard Knecht, begins his apprenticeship as an optometrist at Arnold-Knecht-Optik (AKOS). At the end of the war, he establishes business contacts in the USA, England an France.

1956

Arnold-Knecht-Optik is the first optical company in Switzerland to create a high-vacuum vapour deposition system to coat lenses. Thanks to this technological development and the fact that it sells products in demand on the market, the company grows constantly and the premises need to be expanded. In 1959, a new factory building is created.

1966

Gerhard Knecht takes over the business from his father. At that time, Knecht-Optik has 60 employees.

[ewf-divider height=”10″]

Since 1980

Knecht Optik has been a Hoya agent and is Hoya’s exclusive representative in Switzerland.

 1986

Peter Müller-Knecht takes over to represent the 4th generation of the company.

Seit 1993

Introduction of a Life Cycle Assessment: It is the declared aim of the Knecht & Müller AG, to not only produce lenses of high quality, but to also offer carbon-neutral products.

1994

The company participates in the “nanotechnology” research project of the Swiss Commission for Technology and Innovation, KTI.

1995

A new building with an innovative energy system is built.

1997

The company becomes incorporated.

2005

For the first time, the company offers an individual progressive-addition lens.

2006

Knecht & Müller AG produces 100% carbon-neutral.

2007

A know-how exchange is agreed upon with the Hoya Vision Care company.

Knecht & Müller AG awarded the ÖBU prize for best sustainability report in the SME category by the “Schweizerische Vereinigung für ökologisch bewusste Unternehmensführung” (“ÖBU“) [Swiss Association for Ecologically-Aware Business Management]. Knecht & Müller achieves carbon-neutral production by means of renewable energy sources, increasing energy efficiency and a financial commitment to climate protection projects.

2008

Conversion of the old building with optimized insulation according to latest energy standards.

Start of the production of HOYALUX iD LifeStyle individual progressive lenses in Stein am Rhein. Knecht & Müller AG is the only associate partner of HOYA worldwide to get the permission for an independant production.

2009

Knecht & Müller AG wins the Innovations award 2009 of local Schaffhauser banks. Knecht & Müller AG receives the price for the best sustainable development of a company.

In November, Knecht & Müller AG is again awarded the ÖBU prize for the best sustainability report in the SME category.

2010

The company invested in a new anti-reflection coating facility in order to be able to produce the Super Hi-Vision Coating from HOYA itself.

Connection to the Stein am Rhein woodchip heater and installation of a new heat pump with a so-called freecooling system, resulting in savings of approximately 10% of the total electricity requirements.

Currently the Knecht & Müller AG ranks among the leading lens producers in Switzerland, with an annually production of about 250.000 eyeglass lenses and with 55 employees to the most important employers of the region. The main focus lies in the production of premium prescription lenses.

2011

In summer 2011, Knecht & Müller AG expanded its own product line and brought the Privilege Individual progressive-addition lens onto the Swiss market. An individual lens that is manufactured in Stein am Rhein and is especially made for use in sports varifocal spectacles that are very curved and have large diameter lenses.

In November, Knecht & Müller AG were awarded the ÖBU prize for the best sustainability report in the SME category for the fourth time.

2012

In May 2012, Knecht & Müller AG took over 100% of the shares of VON HOFF AG, with retroactive effect from 1 January 2012. VON HOFF AG represents various famous designer frames in Switzerland, is general agent for the Nidek company and supplies opticians and ophthalmologists in Switzerland with eye-testing equipment. Both companies will continue to operate in their previous form.

2013

As part of the company’s long-term succession planning, former Managing Director Thomas Fischer is leaving us. Once again, financial and operational control are 100% in the hands of the Müller-Knecht family.

The operational management will now be taken care of by the Proprietor, Peter Müller-Knecht, with the assistance of his children, Niels Müller and Christina Müller. Christina Müller and Niels Müller retain their former positions of Marketing Manager and Project Manager, Production Department respectively, as well as being members of the Executive Board. Since autumn 2013 Igor Merhar has strengthened as a sales manager the management.

Lager
Peter Müller-Knecht
Hochvakuum-Anlage
KuM_7
Rohblank-Lager
Photovoltaik-Anlage Knecht & Müller AG
öbu-Preis
Hochvakuum-Anlage für Aufbringung von Entspiegelungsschichten
Färbeprozess
Einspannen der Brillengläser in eine Kalotte - zur Bedampfung mit Entspiegelungsschicht
Entspiegeltes Brillenglas
öbu-Preis
VON HOFF
Christina und Niels Müller

2014

In this year, the Knecht & Müller AG celebrates its 100th anniversary. With an anniversary celebration (pictures customer event) in Zurich, 100 years of quality, precision and innovation in the manufacture of ophtalmic lenses were celebrated with the best customers.

2015

After over 100 years in the hands of the Müller-Knecht family, Dr. Peter Müller has decided, together with his family, to sell the tradition-steeped company to long-term business partners, the Hoya Corporation. Knecht & Müller AG is joining forces with the global corporation HOYA in order to continue operating successfully in the Swiss market in future.

100-Jahre-150
Logo Hoya

Slideshow 100 years of Knecht & Müller AG

With an annual production of around 200,000 spectacle lenses, Knecht & Müller AG is currently one of the leading lens manufacturers in Switzerland and with a workforce of 40 people, one of the most important employers in the region. The emphasis lies in the production of high-quality prescription lenses.

Company tour

Histoire de la société Knecht & Müller

100 ans verres de lunettes suisse

Herrmann Knecht - 1914
Arnold Knecht 1922
Logo Arnold-Knecht-Optik 1938
Gerhard Knecht - 1995

1913

Hermann Knecht fait l’acquisition, à partir de la masse de la faillite d’une fabrique de boîtiers de montres, des locaux de Stein am Rhein, Mühlenstrasse, et fonde en 1914 la société Hermann-Knecht-Optik.

1922

Hermann Knecht cède la société à son fils, Arnold Knecht. Ce dernier se consacre principalement à l’optique de lunettes, au commerce d’instruments et d’articles optiques. Sous la direction d’Arnold Knecht, la société devient une des plus importantes entreprises d’optiques de Suisse.

1938

Son fils, Gerhard Knecht, commence un apprentissage comme opticien auprès d’Arnold-Knecht-Optik (AKOS). C’est lui également qui suite après la fin de la guerre noue des contacts commerciaux aux Etats-Unis, en Angleterre et en France.

1956

La Arnold-Knecht-Optik est la première société d’optique de Suisse à acquérir une installation sous vide pour les pulvérisations chromatiques. Le progrès technique et la demande de produits sur le marché favorisent une croissance constante de l’entreprise. Il est nécessaire d’adapter et d’agrandir les locaux. Une nouvelle construction est réalisée en 1959.

1966

Gerhard Knecht succède à son père. La Knecht-Optik compte désormais 60 employés.


Depuis 1980

La Knecht Optik est agent Hoya et devient ainsi le représentant exclusif des produits Hoya en Suisse.

 1986

Peter Müller-Knecht représente la 4ème génération au sein de l’entreprise.

Seit 1993

Introduction du bilan écologique: C’est l’objectif déclaré de Knecht & Müller AG à offrir non seulement la qualité mais aussi des produits neutres pour le climat.

1994

L’entreprise participe à un projet de recherche de l’agence pour la promotion de l’innovation, CTI, au domaine de la nanotechnologie.

1995

Une nouvelle construction est équipée d’un système d’énergie innovant.

1997

Transformation en société anonyme.

2005

L’entreprise propose pour la première fois un verre progressif individuel.

2006

Dès cette année, Knecht & Müller AG produit 100% neutre en carbone.

2007

accord de transfert de savoir-faire est signé avec l’entreprise Hoya Vision Care.

Prix de Knecht & Müller AG par l’association suisse pour la gestion écologiquement entreprises avec la prix de la meilleure rapport en matière de dévelopement durable dans la catégorie PME. Knecht & Müller parvient à produire neutre en carbone avec l’utilisation des énergies renouvelables, accroître l’éfficacité énergétique et l’engagement financier à des projets de protection du climat.

2008

Transformation des anciens bâtiments avec adoption de mesures optimisées d’isolation thermique selon les normes énergétiques actuelles.

Prise en charge de la production des verres progressifs individualisés Hoyalux iD LifeStyle à Stein am Rhein. La société Knecht & Müller devient le seul partenaire commercial au monde n’appartenant pas à HOYA qui est autorisé à assurer sa propre production.

2009

La société Knecht & Müller AG reçoit le prix de l’innovation 2009 décerné par les banques locales de Schaffhouse. Knecht & Müller se voit attribuer le prix du développement durable d’entreprise.

En novembre, la Knecht & Müller AG est distinguée une nouvelle fois par le prix ÖBU qui récompense le meilleur rapport en matière de développement durable, dans la catégorie PME.

2010

La société investit dans une nouvelle installation de traitement antireflets afin de pouvoir réaliser elle-même à Stein am Rhein le revêtement Super Hi-Vision de HOYA.

Raccordement au chauffage par copeaux de bois de Stein am Rhein et introduction d’une nouvelle pompe à chaleur dotée du Frecooling System. Cela permet une économie d’environ 10% du besoin de courant total.

2011

En été 2011, la société Knecht & Müller AG complète sa propre ligne de produits et lance sur le marché suisse le verre progressif Privilege Individual. Un verre individuel qui est fabriqué à Stein am Rhein et qui peut être utilisé spécialement pour les lunettes de sport à verres progressifs présentant des courbes importantes et de grands diamètres.

En novembre, la Knecht & Müller AG est distinguée une nouvelle fois par le prix ÖBU qui récompense le meilleur rapport en matière de développement durable, dans la catégorie PME.

2012

En mai 2012, la société Knecht & Müller a acquis 100% des parts de sociales de la société VON HOFF AG, avec effet rétroactif au 1.1.2012. VON HOFF AG représente en Suisse des marques de montures renommées, elle intervient en tant que représentant général de la société Nidek et fournit aux opticiens et aux ophtalmologues de Suisse des appareils d’examen de la vue. Les deux entreprises poursuivent leurs activités sous la même forme qu’avant.

2013

Dans le cadre du règlement à long terme de la succession de l’entreprise, monsieur Thomas Fischer, qui occupait jusqu’à présent les fonctions de directeur, quitte la société. Le contrôle opérationnel et financier se trouve de nouveau intégralement dans les mains de la famille Müller-Knecht. La direction opérationnelle est prise en charge par le propriétaire, Peter Müller-Knecht, qui bénéficie du soutien de ses enfants, Niels Müller et Christina Müller. Christina Müller et Niels Müller conservent les fonctions qu’ils occupaient jusqu’à présent, respectivement en tant que directrice marketing et chef de projets technique/production; ils sont également membres de la direction. Depuis l’automne 2013, Igor Merhar renforce en tant que directeur des ventes la direction de l’entreprise.

Lager
Peter Müller-Knecht
Hochvakuum-Anlage
KuM_7
Rohblank-Lager
Photovoltaik-Anlage Knecht & Müller AG
öbu-Preis
Hochvakuum-Anlage für Aufbringung von Entspiegelungsschichten
Färbeprozess
Einspannen der Brillengläser in eine Kalotte - zur Bedampfung mit Entspiegelungsschicht
Entspiegeltes Brillenglas
öbu-Preis
VON HOFF
Christina und Niels Müller

2014

Cette année, le Knecht & Müller AG célèbre son 100ème anniversaire. Avec une célébration d’anniversaire (photos de l’événement) à Zurich, 100 ans de qualité, de précision et de l’innovation dans la fabrication de lentilles ophtalmiques ont été célébrés avec les meilleurs clients.

2015

Après plus de 100 années passées dans le giron de la famille Müller-Knecht, Dr Peter Müller a décidé en accord avec les siens de vendre l’entreprise riche d’une grande tradition au partenaire de longue date qu’est la société Hoya Corporation. Knecht & Müller AG s’associe au groupe international HOYA pour rester toujours aussi performante sur le marché suisse.

100-Jahre-150
Logo Hoya